PDA

View Full Version : Hella HID DOT compliant

bigB
08-05-2011, 04:19 AM
SO...:explode: my local authorities insist that all my lights meet North American compliance. Unfortunately JIS and E-code fail. They must all meet DOT/SAE North American Standard.

bigB
08-05-2011, 04:46 AM
a cardboard template, scrap aluminum sheet, acrylic surplus+yellow vinyl, DOT compliant 90mm 55watt 4300k Hella projector HIDs, LED daytime running lights, etc. =

ps.I had to add DOT tails/reverse/and plate lights too!

Rear is not to lovely, but I'm happy with the upgrades to the front.
Still a forced issue.

TADO
11-05-2011, 03:44 PM
great solution! :D
have you not been able to have it on the road before changing the lights? or were you advised about them while it was on the road?

bigB
12-05-2011, 12:35 AM
Thanks Tado. :)
I've been driving it for 3 years, but lately the authorities here are really cracking down on us (RHD in a LHD country). Luckily no copper has stopped me to check my lights.

I've also had to change my seat-belts and tires!

Authorities here hate RHD and are trying to stop the importation because North American auto makers are lobbying the government and saying that they are loosing sales.

Obsessive
12-05-2011, 12:25 PM
Good work.
That looks like quite a major undertaking. I thought I was going hard by fitting LED daylight running lights inside my headlamps but you've just taken it to a whole new level!

bigB
13-05-2011, 08:09 AM
Nothing major, just lots of tinkering. I had to switch, so I figured I should upgrade.
I like your Daytime Running Lamps. They help a lot to be seen for safety and are mandatory here.
I used those leds to light up under the hood.
ps... the Hellas are a decent projector. Bright with crisp cut-offs.

Obsessive
13-05-2011, 11:22 AM
Nothing major, just lots of tinkering. I had to switch, so I figured I should upgrade.
I like your Daytime Running Lamps. They help a lot to be seen for safety and are mandatory here.