PDA

View Full Version : Pikes Peak with a Honda Beat...bad idea?

unclejemima
22-10-2011, 06:16 AM
I turn the big 30 next year...and I figured it would be fun to do something special for my birthday.

Long story, but I built this thing...
http://i303.photobucket.com/albums/nn123/cornflakejoe/P6161586.jpg
and started talking with a guy who said i should race the Peak.

I have no actual race experience (but i've been riding motorbikes/trikes/quad/cars/trucks since I was 14), but I've been told I can enter as long as I don't go in with a 1000hp car :-) Of course there is an entry feeA:) An 18 year old girl ran her dads mini cooper S up for the second time this year with no prob.

So, I was thinking, instead of my trike, the Beat would be fun as well.
http://i303.photobucket.com/albums/nn123/cornflakejoe/photo2.jpg

Because the beat is fuel injected (not carbed like my motorbike) the altitude won't require special tuning...but I will be down on power at 14,000ft!!!

Please chime in with what you think. My beat is bone stock. I feel bad about holding the throttle wide open for a good 20 minutes straight (up hill all the way with 156 turns!!!)

Will this wreck my beat's motor? Will it even have enough power to do so?

Let me know what you guys think!

steveinjapan
22-10-2011, 11:44 AM
I say, GO FOR IT!

Is there a 660cc class?

Saharasole
22-10-2011, 10:33 PM
Sounds like fun to me, you see a lot of Japanese beats doing gymkhana type events and generally thrashing the engine around tight courses, so why not give it a go! If it was a little more local, I would be tempted to join you!

steveinjapan
23-10-2011, 03:30 AM
I'm not talking out of any particular experience, but it seems to me if you do decent preparation, check all critical systems, jettison some weight, make sure the rev limiter works, and (? maybe) a grade heavier oil, you have a good chance of finishing.

Any other ideas?

unclejemima
23-10-2011, 04:16 AM
Thanks for the positive feedback guys!