Thread: ECU Capacitors

ECU Capacitors

Having received a zero response from the ECU Doctor and Paul busy with his young family, I now know what that feels like , I bought these

http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t...lee69/caps.jpg........And I'm gonna have a go myself! I've done a fair bit of wiring and soldering, but I'm far from a pro!

There's an excellent guide on OZ's site HERE that no doubt will prove invaluble.
    I'm either gonna tick one of those must do jobs, or have a giant mobile paperweight!

<<<<<<<VERSION Z>>>>>>
    >>>gone, but not forgotten<<<

Hee hee, good luck on changing those.I have been meaning to change those on my silver Beat.

sounds like fun! Mylee and LEE. W., Is there any problem with your car, or why are you changing the capacitors?
    I've been contemplating doing the change myself, but have held off, only because its running good...
    Please fill me in!

Nope, nothing wrong with the car, it's running fine.
    It's the age that concern's me. My Beat is 14 years old this year. The capacitors have a service life of generally about 10 years, although the car's mileage is very low. It's something I want to change as I know if they capacitors swell, leak or fail totally they can do unrepairable damage to the ECU circuit board.

<<<<<<<VERSION Z>>>>>>

Quote Originally Posted by Mylee View Post
    Nope, nothing wrong with the car, it's running fine.
    It's the age that concern's me. My Beat is 14 years old this year. The capacitors have a service life of generally about 10 years, although the car's mileage is very low. It's something I want to change as I know if they capacitors swell, leak or fail totally they can do unrepairable damage to the ECU circuit board.
    Oh, I see! Thanks, it makes sense now! How many km does your beat have?

I'm not sure exactly without looking as I haven't driven it this year
    I think it was on about 42 or 43 when I put it away for the winter

<<<<<<<VERSION Z>>>>>>

Get out and drive 'er!