Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Stereo off on button?? not working??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    35

    Stereo off on button?? not working??

    Ok beat people, whats the score with these Gathers stereos. Got the car running, had the stereo playing and changing cd's from the boot.

    on off button a bit dodgy, now doests work. tried a cocktail stick with button off-worked once. Are they easy to get out and after that do they come apart ok?

    as always thanks in advance

    Nigel
    (france)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Pye Green/72800 France
    Posts
    556
    common issue i'm afraid.
    just looked in my box of leftovers from the unit i butchered to fit my Fusion radio and you can't even use a 5-6 button upside down as they are different sizes as the unit tapers.
    assuming the small plastic stalk at back of button has broken?
    behind the Grey cover there are clear plastic pieces to transmit light to buttons, then a gel covering over the buttons but with holes so the plastic stalks go directly onto the micro switches.
    i've got a pic somewhere of the PCB, i'll try and upload later for future reference

    re: the other post about 3D printing, it looks as though the buttons are clear plastic then coated Grey and the letters/numbers etched back out

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Pye Green/72800 France
    Posts
    556
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0562.jpg 
Views:	34 
Size:	205.1 KB 
ID:	2705

    /\ what mine looks like now


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0566.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	175.3 KB 
ID:	2706
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0567.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	196.3 KB 
ID:	2707

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    35
    just found new button sets on a japanese auction site
    http://yahoo.aleado.com/lot?auctionID=231456594

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    35

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    35
    my on off button still has its stalk, one of the rocker clips is broken. But i can feel it clicking the button underneath, i guess that must be where the problem lies. you have a very different system now?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Pye Green/72800 France
    Posts
    556
    just a little....

    stripped out all the wiring, dash speakers and subwoofer and replaced doors with components, 2 small & tweeter in each dash pod replaced, Amp behind the passenger seat and HU with a Fusion Marine unit.
    all the info on mine and a few others is on here somewhere, mainly under the sounds sub-forum i think?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Tohoku, Japan
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by triton23 View Post
    just found new button sets on a japanese auction site
    http://yahoo.aleado.com/lot?auctionID=231456594
    Interestingly, both of those are listed as "new", rather than "used". I think I'm going to swing by the dealership after work and do a bit of research.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    35
    Let us know how you get on

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    35
    Well the unthinkable happened, got the unit out, as carefully taking off the front face to reveal the buttons, I dropped the screen and it pulled the ribbon from the circuit board. I'm so cross with myself. Has anyone successfully re soldered the ribbon on. Are there any screen modules out there to be had?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by old'uns View Post
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0562.jpg 
Views:	34 
Size:	205.1 KB 
ID:	2705

    /\ what mine looks like now


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0566.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	175.3 KB 
ID:	2706
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0567.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	196.3 KB 
ID:	2707
    That's a neat remedy.....

    Think I will have to follow suit....

    Are all marine radios narrow or is it just the fusion brand ??

    I have an old original radio front I can use to fibreglass up a surround.....

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Tohoku, Japan
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by triton23 View Post
    Let us know how you get on
    Finally got a chance to get out to the dealership. Turns out that they don't sell them. Not sure where this guy is getting his, then.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    14
    How did you go about taking the front face plate off? My Volume up button doesn't work, I'd like to take swing at fixing this if possible. Any help will be appreciated!
    Thanks!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Pye Green/72800 France
    Posts
    556
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF0001.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	212.4 KB 
ID:	2719Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF0002.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	201.6 KB 
ID:	2720Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF0003.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	198.1 KB 
ID:	2721Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF0005.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	189.2 KB 
ID:	2722
    cage held in by the 2 screws/bolts just level with the plastic trim
    usually not a lot of slack on cables as you pull cage out
    2 screws top and bottom hold the fascia on

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    14
    Thanks for the quick response and the excellent information! What do you think my chances are of getting the volume button to work? I've poked a few assorted things trying to get it to respond and nothing has worked. Any recommendations as to what I should try to poke it with?
    Thanks!
    Mark

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Pye Green/72800 France
    Posts
    556
    cocktail stick, small nail, anything small, it's only micro switches that are activated


  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Guernsey
    Posts
    230
    If the bar the switch pivots on is broken glue something across where it was. From memory (this was a long time ago) I used a bit of an ice lolly stick. Missing prongs can be improvised and glued in place on the back of the switch. If the pivot clips on the back of the switch are broken use a small dab of silicone sealer or other flexible adhesive.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •